Anwar announces 27 deputy ministers

by HABHAJAN SINGH / pic credit: Istana Negara FB

PRIME Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim last Friday named 27 deputy ministers to complement the line-up of 28 ministers in the new federal administration.

This followed his audience with the Yang di-Pertuan Agong earlier in the day to present the list of names.

In a televised address, the Pakatan Harapan (PH) chairperson announced deputy ministers for all ministries and portfolios except two — the Unity Ministry and Religious Affairs Ministry.

Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Pontian MP Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan and PH’s Bukit Mertajam MP Steven Sim were named deputy finance ministers in the unity government.

Anwar also announced that Bukit Gelugor MP Ramkarpal Singh will serve as deputy law minister, while Iskandar Puteri MP Liew Chin Tong will be deputy international trade and industry minister.

Of the 27 deputy ministers named, PH, which is also the coalition with the largest number of seats in Parliament, not surprisingly holds the most positions (13), followed by BN (6), and the Borneo blocs of Gabungan Parti Sarawak [GPS] (6), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah [GRS] (1) and Parti Warisan (1).

By parties’ composition, DAP led with six followed by Umno (5), PKR (5), Parti Pesaka Bumiputera Bersatu (4) and Parti Amanah Negara (2). Parti Bersatu Sabah, Parti Rakyat Sarawak, Sarawak United People’s Party, Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah and Parti Warisan all have one deputy minister slot each.

There are eight women deputy ministers in the 27 named in the list.