Anwar names 27 deputy ministers

KUALA LUMPUR – Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (picture) today announced the appointment of 27 deputy ministers.

Anwar said that the list of names had been consented to by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah.

“The swearing-in ceremony will be conducted at the Istana Negara, at 3 pm tomorrow,” he said.

The announcement made in Putrajaya at about 8.15 pm was broadcast live through television stations and social media platforms.

Last Friday (Dec 2), Anwar announced the appointment of two deputy prime ministers and 28 Cabinet ministers.

Earlier today, Anwar presented the list of deputy ministers to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong at Istana Negara.

Anwar, who is also the Finance Minister, announced that UMNO secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan and DAP national organising secretary Steven Sim were appointed as Deputy Finance Ministers.

Kota Samarahan MP Datuk Rubiah Wang was appointed as Deputy Minister of Rural and Regional Development while Beaufort MP Datuk Siti Aminah Aching was named Deputy Minister of Plantation and Commodities.

Also named were Datuk Hasbi Habibollah as Deputy Minister of Transport; Chan Foong Hin as Deputy Minister of Agriculture and Food Security; Datuk Hanifah Hajar Taib as Deputy Minister of Economy and Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Mohamad as Deputy Works Minister.

PKR strategy director Akmal Nasrullah Mohd Nasir was appointed as Deputy Minister of Local Government Development; Melaka Pakatan Harapan (PH) director Adly Zahari as Deputy Minister of Defence; Barisan Nasional (BN) communications director Datuk Seri Shamsul Anuar Nasarah as Deputy Minister of Domestic Trade and Cost of Living.

Johor DAP chairman Liew Chin Tong was announced as the Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry; Lahad Datu MP Datuk Mohamad Yusof Apdal as Deputy Minister of Higher Education; and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS) deputy president Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup as Deputy Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation. – Bernama