More LRT disruption ahead

This is as the rail system only have 36 trains operating compared to 56


PUBLIC are told to expect more technical disruption from the Kelana Jaya Light Rail Transit (LRT) line in the next six months until additional new trains start operating in the third quarter of 2023 (3Q23), Transport Minister Anthony Loke said. 

“We apologise to the passengers for the inconvenience caused by the disruptions to Kelana Jaya LRT recently. I will do more spot checks personally from time to time. 

“In the meantime, I like to inform that Prasarana Malaysia Bhd has purchased 19 four-coach train sets with the first set expected to start its operation in 3Q23,” he told reporters at a press conference a two-hour discussion with Prasarana president and CEO Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah on some of the pressing issues relating to LRT and monorail. 

Loke said as there will be more train operating in the 3Q23, the train frequency for the Kelana Jaya line will also be improved from the current five minutes interval to three minutes interval.

Loke explained that the prolonged interval time is due to Prasarana having only 38 sets of trains in operation and another 18 under maintenance.

“However, once we have the full fleet operating and the additional new train, we will be able to achieve three minutes interval for the train frequency,” he said. 

On another note, Loke announced that Prasarana has appointed independent engineering service firm WSP Engineering Sdn Bhd to carry out investigation on the disruption of the Kelana Jaya line last month which causes the temporary closure of 16 LRT stations.

“A full report on the incident would be available in two weeks and open for the public to view,” Loke said a full report.

Last month, 16 stations along the Kelana Jaya line had their operations suspended from Nov 9 until 15 after a malfunction in the LRT automatic train control system.

The affected LRT stations were Kelana Jaya, Taman Bahagia, Taman Paramount, Asia Jaya, Taman Jaya, Universiti, Kerinchi, Bangsar, Abdullah Hukum, KL Sentral, Pasar Seni, Masjid Jamek, Dang Wangi, Kampung Baru, KLCC and Ampang Park.