Polling for Padang Serai, Tioman starts at 8am

KUALA LUMPUR – The voting process for the 15th General Election (GE15) for the Padang Serai parliamentary seat in Kedah and the Tioman state seat in Pahang officially begins at 8 am today, involving a total of 161,063 voters.

They comprised 132,955 voters in Padang Serai, and 28,108 others in Tioman.

A total of 46 polling centres with 230 voting streams in Padang Serai, and 17 polling centres with 52 voting streams in Tioman will open from 8am to 6pm.

Polling for the two seats could not be held simultaneously with the GE15 following the death of the candidates, namely M. Karupaiya of Pakatan Harapan (PH) for Padang Serai and Perikatan Nasional’s (PN) Md Yunus Ramli for Tioman.

The contest for the Padang Serai parliamentary seat will see a six-cornered fight among candidates from PH, Barisan Nasional (BN), PN, Pejuang, Warisan and an Independent. However, last Dec 2, BN agreed to give way to PH for the parliamentary seat.

The Tioman state seat will feature a five-cornered contest between candidates from BN, PN, PH, Pejuang and an independent, but PH has also announced its withdrawal from the race. –  Bernama