Saifuddin Nasution, Zambry, Tengku Zafrul, Mohd Na’im take oath as senators

KUALA LUMPUR – Four people were sworn in as senators today following their appointments as ministers in Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim’s Unity Government Cabinet yesterday.

They took their oath of office before Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Dr Rais Yatim at Parliament House at 8.30am.

They are Pakatan Harapan (PH) secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail who has been appointed as Minister of Home Affairs and former finance minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz (picture) who has been made Minister of International Trade and Industry.

Others are Barisan Nasional (BN) secretary-general Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir who has been named Minister of Foreign Affairs and Chief Syarie Judge Datuk Dr Mohd Na’im Mokhtar who has been appointed as Minister of Religious Affairs.

Saifuddin Nasution, Zambry and Mohd Na’im were sworn in as senators for their first term while Tengku Zafrul was reappointed upon the consent of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah. – Bernama