PM Anwar to keep finance, Zahid and Fadillah made DPM

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (picture) will also double as the finance minister. He will be flanked by two deputy prime ministers: Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi from Barisan Nasional (BN) and Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof from the  Gabungan Parti Sarawak.

As speculated, former banker and finance minister Tengku Zafrul Abdul Aziz also made the cut for the minister of international trade and industry.

Anwar announced the full list of the Cabinet live on social media this evening.

Zahid will also be the Minister for Rural and Regional Development while Fadillah will be Minister for Plantations and Commodities.

Prior to this, Anwar, 75, held the finance minister portfolio for eight years — from 1991 to 1998 — under the premiership of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, reports Bernama.

Starting off as a deputy minister in the Prime Minister’s Department in 1982, he then became the Culture, Youth and Sports Minister in 1983, Agriculture Minister in 1984, Education Minister in 1986, and Finance Minister in 1991.

In the midst of the Asian Financial Crisis of 1997, Anwar backed free market principles and highlighted the issue of the proximity of business and politics in Malaysia.

The Prime Minister was also the chairman of the Development Committee of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund in 1998 for a two-year term, during which he strongly endorsed the initiatives of debt cancellation and reprieve for poor countries, particularly those in Africa.

The formation of the Cabinet came after Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim was sworn in as the 10th Prime Minister last week to lead a unity government comprising PH which has 82 seats, Barisan Nasional (30 seats), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (23), Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (six) and other parties.

Anwar was sworn in before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah on Nov 24.


Prime Minister / Minister of Finance: Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim
Deputy Prime Minister / Minister of Rural Development: Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi
Deputy Prime Minister / Minister of Plantation Industries and Commodities : Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof
Minister of Transport: Anthony Loke Siew Fook
Minister of Agriculture and Food Security: Mohamad Sabu
Minister of Economic Affairs: Mohd Rafizi Ramli
Minister of Housing and Local Government: Nga Kor Ming
Minister of Defence: Datuk Seri Mohamad Hassan
Minister of Works: Alexander Nanta Linggi
Minister of Home Affairs: Saifuddin Nasution
Minister of International Trade and Industry: Tengku Zafrul Aziz
Minister of Higher Education: Mohamed Khaled Nordin
Minister of Science and Technolog: Chang Lih Kang
Minister of Women, Family and Community Development: Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri
Minister of Domestic Trade and Cost of Living: Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub
Minister of Law and Institutional Reform: Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said
Minister of Natural Resources, Environment and Climate Change: Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad
Minister of Entrepreneurship and Cooperative Development: Datuk Ewon Benedick
Minister of Foreign Affairs: Datuk Seri Zambry Abd Kadir
Minister of Tourism and Culture: Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing
Minister of Digital Communication : Ahmad Fahmi Mohamed Fadzil
Minister of Education: Fadhlina Sidek
Minister of National Unity: Datuk Aaron Ago Dagang
Minister of Religious Affairs: Datuk Naim Mokhtar
Minister of Youth and Sports: Hannah Yeoh
Minister of Human Resource: Sivakumar Varatharaju Naidu
Minister of Health: Dr. Zaliha Mustafa
Minister of Sabah and Sarawak Affairs: Armizan Mohd Ali