GE15: Six-cornered battle for Padang Serai parliamentary seat

KULIM • The contest for the Padang Serai parliamentary seat in the 15th General Election (GE15) which was previously postponed following the death of one of the candidates, will see a six-cornered fight.

The six vying for the seat are Pakatan Harapan (PH) candidate Dr Mohamad Sofee Razak, Datuk C Sivaraajh (Barisan Nasional), Datuk Azman Nasrudin (Perikatan Nasional) and Hamzah Abd Rahman (Parti Pejuang Tanah Air).

The other two contenders are Mohd Bakhri Hashim representing Warisan and independent candidate Sreanandha Rao.

Returning officer Datuk Abdul Bari Abdullah announced their names at 10.45am after the nomination closed at Kulim Hi-Tech Sports Complex Hall here today.

Also present was Election Commission (EC) deputy chairman Dr Azmi Sharom.

Mohamad Sofee, who was just announced yesterday as the PH candidate, arrived at the nomination centre at about 8.30am, while all the other candidates who were already confirmed on Nov 5 were present for the drawing of lots to determine the order of names on the ballot paper.

Though the Warisan candidate was absent at the drawing of lots, this would not affect his chance to contest the seat.

The nomination process today went smoothly without any untoward incident and was closely monitored by the authorities.

Mohamad Sofee, 47, who is a lawyer, is replacing PH’s previous candidate, M Karupaiya, 69, who died on Nov 16  believed to be due to a heart attack and health complications.

The Kedah PH secretary had previously contested for the Kuala Ketil state seat in GE14.

Following Karupaiya’s death, the EC postponed polling for the Padang Serai parliamentary seat to Dec 7 and early voting to be held on Dec 3.

In GE14, Karupaiya of PH won the parliamentary seat with a majority of 8,813 votes defeating PAS candidate Muhamad Sobri Osman and BN candidate Datuk Dr Leong Yong Kong. – Bernama