Big wins, shocking losses

Dr Mahathir, Khairy, Nurul Izzah,Tengku Razaleigh among the casualties 


THE 15th General Election (GE15) has drawn its curtain with the total of voter turnout exceeding that of GE14. 

At the end of polling day on Nov 19, approximately 73.89% (15.64 million) of the 21.17 million voters had cast their ballots. The total number of voters in GE14 was 12.3 million. 

Although GE15 ended with a hung Parliament, Malaysians who were glued to their screens up until 4am on Sunday were “entertained” with some unexpected wins and losses among the most popular names in the country’s political arena. 

DAP’s Gobind Singh Deo won with the biggest majority (124,619) in Damansara with a total of 142,875 votes. His opponents both lost their deposits with a total 18,256 votes. 

Coming in second was DAP’s Teresa Kok won with a majority of 67,187 in Seputeh with a total of 73,234 votes. 

Despite only having returned to politics in March this year, PKR deputy president Rafizi Ramli also scored big as he swept the Pandan Parliamentary seat with 74,002 votes (a 48,296 majority). 

Meanwhile, Pas president Tan Sri Abdul Hadi Awang retained his Marang seat with 73,115 total votes (a 41,729 majority). 

Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan, who replaced Khair y Jamaluddin in the Rembau parliamentary seat, won with 53,075 total votes (a 19,897 majority). 

Umno’s caretaker Prime Minister (PM) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob also managed to retain his Bera seat with a 16,695 majority out of 31,762 total votes. 

Former PM Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin also held on strongly to his Pagoh parliamentary seat with 24,986 total votes for a majority of 10,007, compared to 6,927 in GE14. 

Former Deputy PM under Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s 2018 administration, Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, won the Bandar Tun Razak seat with 43,476 votes (a 9,817 majority). 

In Titiwangsa, Barisan Nasional’s (BN) Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani went against the tide by collecting 25,042 total votes (a 4,632 majority), becoming the sole BN representative standing in the ever-important central region. 

PH leaders celebrating early Sunday morning, namely (from left) Syed Saddiq, Parti Amanah Negara president Mohamad Sabu, Anwar, Loke and PKR secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismal (pic: MUHD AMIN NAHARUL/TMR)

Meanwhile, in Tambun, heavyweight candidate and PH chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim took the seat with 49,625 votes for a 3,736 majority. 

Muda president Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, with a total of 19,961 votes (a 1,345 majority), will serve in Muar for the second term. “Our work is far from over!” said the 30-year-old in an Instagram story post after his win. 

On the other hand, former Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz, who was seen as a strong contender in Kuala Selangor, did not do well enough despite garnering 30,031 votes. 

He lost to Parti Amanah Negara strategic director Datuk Seri Dr Dzulkefly Ahmad (31,033 votes), who initially wanted to give way to younger leaders, but made a last-minute comeback after Tengku Zafrul announced that he was contesting in Kuala Selangor. 


In the meantime, Umno’s former Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin, whose announcement to contest in Sungai Buloh seemed to have brought joy to many, lost with 48,250 votes, 2,693 votes behind PH’s Ramanan Ramakrishnan. 

“I think I tried my best. But I wasn’t good enough. A loss is a loss, no matter how close you came or how many people express disappointment at your loss,” he said in an Instagram post. 

On his two years of steering the country out of the Covid-19 pandemic, he said it was a great privilege and was happy that Malaysia had recovered better than many other countries. 

“I hope the people who have been elected act with wisdom and compassion. The country needs stability and leadership more than ever. I wish you all the very best,” he added. 

More devastatingly, Parti Pejuang Tanah Air’s 97-year-old chairman Dr Mahathir ended up in fourth place, losing his Langkawi parliamentary seat and deposit with only 4,566 votes. Voters chose PN’s Datuk Mohd Suhaimi Abdullah instead, who won with 25,463 votes for a 13,518 majority. 

Permatang Pauh candidate Nurul Izzah Anwar, meanwhile, did not follow in her parents’ victorious footsteps when her 32,366 votes were not enough to beat PN’s Muhammad Fawwaz Mohamad Jan’s 37,638 votes. 

Many of her supporters nationwide expressed their shock and disappointment over the result, as Nurul Izzah was said to be the one of the MPs to constantly bring up the flood issues in Parliament. 

Lastly, after having served Gua Musang for 12 terms, BN’s Tengku Razaleigh Tengku Hamzah lost his parliamentary seat by a mere 163 votes, coming in second behind PAS’ Mohd Azizi Abu Naim who garnered 21,826 votes. 

  • This article first appeared in The Malaysian Reserve weekly print edition