Ahmad Zahid: All BN MPs will follow Supreme Council’s decision

Any MPs from the coalition claiming otherwise is deem as invalid, BN chairman stresses


BARISAN Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi confirmed that 26 MPs out of the 30 who won the 15th General Election (GE15) will support the BN Supreme Council’s decision to join any party.

However, he said, two of them were unable to attend the meeting held at the Seri Pacific Hotel today due to ill health.

“We decided that the rulings and directives decided by the BN Supreme Council are major directives that must be followed by all MPs because we are all contesting on the BN ticket,” he said at a press conference today.

Among those present at the press conference were Umno deputy president Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan, Umno VP Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Umno secretary general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan.

Meanwhile, Ahmad Zahid said BN will submit a statutory declaration (SD) on behalf of the party’s MPs in support of a prime ministerial candidate to the Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun soon as the majority of MPs had jointly made a unanimous decision regarding the matter.

“However, we hope the Speaker can extend the time period a bit compared to the 2pm deadline set today to enable us to have further discussion with other parties,” he said.

On that note, Ahmad Zahid also warned BN MPs who signed any document, especially an SD, to name anyone as prime minister as invalid.

He noted that the action violates the party’s constitution.  

Ahmad Zahid stressed as of now, BN has not conducted any negotiations with any party including Perikatan Nasional.