Malaysia bags 2 awards for nuclear advancement contributions

by NURUL SUHAIDI / pic source: Dr Adham FB

THE Science, Technology and Innovation Ministry (Mosti) through the Malaysian Nuclear Agency has received two Regional Cooperation Agreement (RCA) awards in Vienna, Austria, both for the institutional category and the individual category.

This followed the agency’s active involvement in contributing to the advancement of nuclear, 141 RCA projects and organising more than 68 RCA activities.

The Malaysian Nuclear Agency had contributed to the advancement of nuclear science and technology in the region by providing consultancy services and analysis of materials and resources.

The agency’s senior research officer Dr Ilham Mukhriz Zainal Abidin was the recipient for RCA’s Project Award under the individual category.

“He has been actively involved with RCA projects in the field of non-destructive testing (NDT) techniques since 2012 and contributes to the promotion of NDT applications for civil and industrial engineering structures.

“He has also been the chief national coordinator for the NDT project since 2018 where he deals with problems that have been identified by the two RCA member countries to strengthen NDT capabilities in the Asia and Pacific region,” Mosti said in a statement today.

The award was held in conjunction with the 50th anniversary of RCA.

Mosti Minister Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba (right) received the two awards while attending the RCA Ministerial Conference at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) Headquarters in Vienna, Austria.

The meeting was also held for the first time to provide an opportunity for RCA country members to renew their commitment, support and continued dedication to the RCA programme in the Asia and Pacific region.

The RCA is a cooperation agreement for research, development and training in the field of nuclear science and technology since 1972 under the auspices of the IAEA.

RCA consists of 22 member countries namely Australia, Bangladesh, China, Fiji, the Philippines, India, Indonesia, Japan, Cambodia, Laos, Malaysia, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Palau, Republic of Korea, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam.

Malaysia has been a member of the RCA since 1975 through the Malaysian Nuclear Agency under Mosti.

For the past 50 years, RCA has contributed to the Asia Pacific region including Malaysia with the transfer of advanced nuclear technology in various sectors, achieving significant social and economic value and achieving a better quality of life and environment.

This success is said to be a result of the combined efforts of various national, regional and international stakeholders.