Categories: Life & Arts

Relive mega rock hits at klpac this August

ROCKERS and headbangers, dig out your favourite rock band’s T-shirt and come sing your lungs to mega rock hits from the 90s to the early 2000s. 

The Kuala Lumpur Performing Arts Centre (klpac) and The Actors Studio will be holding their first rock concert in three years called “Rewind”.

The unplugged offshoot of its wildly successful “Let’s Rock” series is set to bring down the house from Aug 18 to Aug 22, 2022, at klpac’s Stage 2.

The concert will feature a lineup of vocalists — Fuad Alhabshi of Kyoto Protocol, Priscillia Xavier, Kirsten Long, Evan Cheah and Cynthia Gan — with a four-piece acoustic band and a cellist.

There’ll be two programmes performed in one night, sold separately — you can pick one or both.

Programme A is an homage to female rockers and bands including Alanis Morisette, Avril Lavigne, Evanescence, Hole, Joan Osborne, Natalie Imbruglia, No Doubt, Paramore, Sixpence None The Richer, Sheryl Crow, The Cardigans, The Cranberries and Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

Programme B rocks the stage with hits by male-fronted bands like Blur, Counting Crows, Greenday, Hoobastank, Nirvana, Oasis, Pearl Jam, Red Hot Chilli Pepper, REM, Smashing Pumpkins, Soundgarden, U2 and Verve Pipe.

The concert will feature a lineup of vocalists — (from left) Gan, Long, Fuad, Cheah and Xavier — with a 4-piece acoustic band and a cellist

“Rewind” director Ian Chow, an avid rock fan obviously, shared how excited the entire production is to finally bring the concert to audiences after three years of planning.

He said the set is like a soundtrack to his teenage years and it has given him a chance to relive that turbulent period filled with lots of ups and downs, angst and also great memories.

“This will be the first time I will be transforming Pentas 2 into an arena staging where the audiences will be seated in the round and the performers are right smack in the middle. 

“Music lovers can enjoy the rock concert vibes, but in an intimate and safe way. I am looking forward to the challenge and to see the audience’s reaction.”

“Rewind” welcomes back “Let’s Rock” headliner, Fuad of Kyoto Protocol, along with vocalists Xavier, Long, Cheah and the baby of the group, 18-year-old Gan. They will be accompanied by the four-piece acoustic band comprising music director cum pianist Jacqueline Teng, guitarist Jeremy James Kong, drummer Alex Lee and bassist Timothy Voo, as well as cellist Eugene Chong.

So, pick which programme suits you — A or B — or be bold and go home with a hoarse throat by picking both, making it a 26-song marathon.

Visit to purchase tickets, priced at RM65 for one programme and RM100 for two of any show date combination. 

For more information, go to, call 03 4047 9000 or WhatsApp +6018 227 7212. Each ticket sold goes towards keeping klpac and The Actors Studio afloat. —by TMR / Pic source: klpac

Dayang Norazhar

Recent Posts

Cabinet Reshuffle not a priority now, may discuss with Agong today, said PM

Prime Minister, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the need to reshuffle the Cabinet at the…

41 mins ago

Tabung Haji assets under MoF SPV to be returned said PM

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said the Tabung Haji assets that were handed over…

44 mins ago

US dollar weakens as gov’t shutdown looms

NEW YORK -- The US dollar lost in late trading on Thursday, as the US Senate…

1 hour ago

Tesla tells jurors fatal crash had nothing to do with Autopilot

Tesla Inc. argued at the start of its first jury trial over a lethal crash…

2 hours ago

Clarifying recent headlines concerning imposition of DuitNow QR transaction fees on traders from Nov 1

KUALA LUMPUR -- On 26 September 2023, several online and mainstream media covered a story…

2 hours ago

No charges imposed on Duitnow QR merchants at present, says Maybank

KUALA LUMPUR -- Malayan Banking Bhd (Maybank) today informed that the bank has not implemented…

2 hours ago