ECRL C2 section in Selangor to be completed in next 5 years


THE construction of the East Coast Rail Link (ECRL) Section C2 (from Gombak to Port Klang) station is set to be completed by Dec 31, 2027, says Transport Minister Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong (picture).

In a written parliamentary reply to Pulai MP Datuk Seri Salahuddin Ayub, Wee said the Puncak Alam (under Section C2) station is still at the design and technical negotiation stage with the Selangor state government agencies.

However, he said Section C stations had undergone a public inspection from Aug 23 to Nov 23, 2021, and had obtained final approval of the Railway Scheme on Jan 20 this year.

“This public inspection is intended for the public to provide a review by submitting feedback on the proposed alignment and ECRL stations, especially in Selangor which at that time identified Puncak Alam and Kapar stations as future stations,” he said.

The Section C stations in Selangor are divided into two, namely Section C1 (from Mentakab to ITT Gombak) and Section C2 (from Gombak to Port Klang via Serendah).

Section C2, which is about 74.25km long, has four stations, namely Serendah Baru (passenger and cargo), Puncak Alam (passenger), Kapar (passenger) and Port Klang (passenger and cargo).

Wee noted that the Puncak Alam station will be located in the Kuala Selangor district and is also expected to be situated in the vicinity of housing areas, businesses and recreational amenities.

“Puncak Alam is a mixed development municipality consisting of residential as well as commercial development. 

“In addition, it is also close to the Universiti Teknologi MARA Puncak Alam campus,” he added.

To recap, the Selangor ECRL began its construction in the first quarter of this year after three years of delay, following the Selangor government’s green light to allow the ECRL to run from Gombak to Serendah, Puncak Alam and Port Klang.


Wednesday, February 17, 2021

Four states remain in MCO until March 4

Thursday, January 13, 2022

Alignment for ECRL finalised - Transport Minister