‘No Plastic Bag’ campaign to be implemented nationwide

by AZALEA AZUAR/pic by Bernama

ALL state governments have agreed to partake in the “No Plastic Bag” campaign where a minimum of 20 sen will be charged for the use of a plastic bag.

According to a Bernama report today, the decision came after Environment and Water Minister Datuk Seri Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man held a meeting with environment authorities and Members of the State Executive Council Responsible for the Environment (Mexcoe).

He had obtained the mandate for all local governments to impose the pollution charge from the 76th National Council meeting today.

“Several other states are planning to start implementing this campaign along with the charge collection, starting with the initial phase of consumer awareness.

“This initiative that has been implemented since 2021 is an effective effort in reducing plastic pollution in Malaysia. I hope this initiative will continue to be supported by all parties for the sake of environmental sustainability which is our shared responsibility,” he said in a statement.

Earlier, efforts to implement this policy have been carried out in the states of Penang, Johor and Selangor.

Moreover, the Department of Environment has also introduced five main clusters under the Rakan Alam Sekitar (RAS) 2.0 — which are the Agency RAS Cluster, Campus RAS Cluster, School RAS Cluster, Industrial RAS Cluster and Community RAS Cluster — not only to widen conservation efforts throughout Malaysia but to also make it easier to form and categorise its members.

The programme will also involve those from the Civil Defence Force, People’s Volunteer Corps, Scouts and Rukun Tetangga.

To ensure the development of activities can meet the demands of environmental preservation, the meeting agreed to enhance the cooperation between the state and federal governments.

Moreover, the national-level National Environment Day celebration this year will be held on Oct 21 in Pahang, while Mexcoe members will reorganised and include new ones, especially from East Malaysia.