PSSC reaches consensus on Anti-Party Hopping Bill amendment


THE Parliament Special Select Committee (PSSC) on refining the Bill Amendment (No 3) 2022 on prohibiting MPs switching political parties held its fourth meeting at the Parliament yesterday.

During the meeting, PSSC reached a consensus and agreed on almost all policy matters regarding the drafting of the Bill as proposed under the Regulation Meeting 54(2) and establishment of the select committee under Regulation 81(1) of the Majlis Dewan Rakyat which has been passed during special meeting on April 11, 2022.

PSSC chairman Minister in the Prime Minister’s (PM) Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (picture) said the committee had also obtained a “written submission” from NGOs, civil society groups, political parties and academic experts over the parameters of drafting the Bill, which the committee will examine before the Bill can be finalised.

“All proceedings under PSSC will be recorded in a statement in accordance with the stipulations of Standing Order 80(1),” he said in a statement today.

It will then be presented to committee members before getting approval, and also be presented and debated at the Dewan Rakyat special session proposed to be held in June 2022.

He mentioned that this proposed Bill on anti-party hopping will be tabled and debated in both the Dewan Rakyat and Dewan Negara on a new date to be announced later.

Wan Junaidi also said the committee will meet again on May 19, 2022, to examine the draft Bill prepared by the Attorney General’s Chambers (AGC).

Previously, based on the motion tabled during the Dewan Rakyat’s special meeting on April 11, PSSC was given one month period to prepare the statement.

“However, the select committee was allowed an extension based on the same motion for the purpose of refining the draft as well as the parliament statement,” he said.

Until the tabling, the select committee must continue its work in accordance with the mandate approved by the Parliament.

Wan Junaidi hoped that the Bill amendment would be tabled at a special Parliament session under Rule 11(3) following the discretion of the PM and the consideration of the Cabinet.

He also mentioned that PSSC’s performance has been very encouraging so far.

“This is along with the support from its members including cooperation from the Parliament, the legal affairs division, the PM’s Department and AGC,” he said.

Other PSSC members are Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Pengerang), Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz (Padang Rengas), Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin (Larut), Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan (Kota Baru), Lukanisman Awang Sauni (Sibuti), Gobind Singh Deo (Puchong), Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution (Kulim-Bandar Baharu) and Datuk Darell Leiking (Penampang).