Germany tightens entry rules for arrivals from Omicron variant areas


BERLIN, Dec 23 — Germany is requiring arrivals from several countries to present a negative COVID-19 PCR test due to the rapid growth of the Omicron COVID-19 variant.

In a statement, the German government said the Cabinet made changes in coronavirus entry regulations, reported Anadolu Agency (AA).

A negative result from a test taken no more than 48 hours before departure must be submitted.

So far, Germany has listed the United Kingdom and eight African countries, including South Africa, as virus variant areas and tightened rules for travellers from these countries.

Only German citizens and residents with a negative PCR test will be allowed to enter the country from the UK, according to the new rules. They will need to go into a two-week quarantine after arriving in Germany irrespective of their vaccination status.

Neighbouring countries France and Denmark were classified as “high-risk areas.” Travellers from these countries will need to self-isolate for 10 days if they cannot submit proof of vaccination or recovery.

The quarantine period may be ended after five days at the earliest with a current negative COVID-19 test.