Ministry to implement temporary travel restriction to countries with Omicron


THE Health Ministry will implement temporary travel from countries with confirmed cases of the Omicron variant of Covid-19, says minister Khairy Jamaluddin Abu Bakar.

“Travellers from Malaysia who are planning to visit countries as listed are not permitted to continue their journey,” Health Minister Khairy Jamaluddin said in a press conference yesterday.

In addition to that, the ministry will temporarily postpone the admission of international students and foreign workers from the countries involved.

As of now, there are 18 countries which detected the new Covid variant and Khairy said the ministry will continue to review and update the list on a daily basis from time to time.

“The listed countries will be distributed to all the relevant agencies for their further implementation,” Khairy added.

There will be no admission restrictions for Malaysian citizens and long-term visit pass holders (PR status, spouse visa, MM2H resident pass), however they must undergo the mandatory 14-day quarantine at the center.

The affected countries were South Africa, Botswana, Eswathini, Lesotho, Mozambique, Namibia, Zimbabwe, and Malawi.

Aside from the eight above, other countries with confirmed cases of Omicron include the Netherlands, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Australia, Hong Kong SAR, Italy, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Spain, France, Israel, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Germany, Sweden, and Japan.