M’sia Cup: JDT blast three goals past TFC for 4-1 aggregate win


KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 26 — Defending champions Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT) have booked their place in the finals of the centennial Malaysia Cup after defeating Terengganu FC (TFC) 4-1 on aggregate in the semi-finals.

The Southern Tigers came out roaring at the Sultan Ibrahim Stadium in Iskandar Puteri, scoring three goals in the first 15 minutes of the match.

Benjamin Mora’s side opened the score through a long-range shot from Brazilian striker Bergson da Silva in the sixth minute, before Argentian import, Gonzalo Cabrera doubled the lead four minutes later.

JDT continued their onslaught against Nafuzi Zain’s men, and Bergson found himself on the scoresheet once again through a powerful shot from close range in the 14th minute.

The home side’s gung ho play came to a halt as midfielder Safiq Rahim was shown the red card for a foul and ‘headbutting’ incident two minutes later, however, TFC could not capitalise on the advantage, with the score remaining 3-0 till the end.

The teams drew 1-1 in the first leg of the semi-final at the Sultan Mizan Zainal Abidin Stadium on Monday.

JDT had advanced to the semis after recording a narrow 1-0 victory over Kedah Darul Aman (KDA) FC in the quarterfinals, while TFC thrashed Sarawak United FC 6-3.

In the 2021 Malaysia Cup final scheduled to take place at 9 pm Tuesday (Nov 30) at Bukit Jalil National Stadium, JDT will take on three time-champions Kuala Lumpur (KL) City FC, who will make their first appearance after 32 years.

The match at Hang Jebat Stadium that was interrupted for around an hour because of an electricity power outage saw KL City beating Melaka United 3-5 in a penalty shootout, after both teams drew 1-1 at the end of extra time.

The first leg semi-final match at Kuala Lumpur Football Stadium in Cheras also ended in a 1-1 draw.

The City Boys went ahead in the 9th minute, when J. Partiban tucked in the ball after an attempt by Muhammad Akram Mahinan, but Melaka managed to equalise through Ahmad Syamim Yahya in the 65th minute.

In the penalty shootout, Paulo Josue, Romel Morales, Indra Putra Mahayuddin, Hadin Azman an dGiancarlo Gallifuoco all converted their penalties for KL City, while Adriano Narcizo, Manuel Ott and Sony Norde scored theirs, but Giovane Gomes attempt hit the post to allow Bojan Hodak’s men into the final.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian Football League (MFL) said in a statement that out of 20,000 tickets for the final, each of the finalists will be allocated 9,000 tickets to be sold through Tickethotline, while the remaining tickets would be MFL’s commitments to sponsors.