Indonesia reopens door for int’l visitors from 19 countries


JAKARTA – International visitors from 19 countries with a COVID-19 positivity rate of less than five per cent have been allowed to come to Indonesia, Coordinating Minister for Maritime and Investment Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan said at a meeting in Jakarta on Wednesday.

These countries are Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), New Zealand, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar, China, India, Japan, South Korea, Liechtenstein, Italy, France, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Poland, Hungary and Norway, reported Xinhua.

“This policy only applies specifically to direct flights to Bali and  Riau Islands,” Pandjaitan added.

They are allowed to enter this Southeast Asian country if they test negative for COVID-19, have been fully vaccinated, and have health insurance as well as proof of booking accommodations for a five-day quarantine.

Bali is an Indonesian province with the most international visitors, while Riau Islands, in the west of the country bordering Singapore, ranked second for foreign tourist arrivals.

Indonesia reopens flights for international visitors in the two provinces starting from Oct 14 as the COVID-19 pandemic has been brought under control.