FIFA Puskas Award winner Faiz Subri sees no prospects in Hungary


KUALA LUMPUR – Winner of the 2016 FIFA Puskas Award Mohd Faiz Subri (picture) will have to forget about his overseas ambition as technical trainer with the Teqball Hungary team.

Without naming any parties responsible, Mohd Faiz, 33, who became a global sensation with his banana free-kick goal, said job negotiations since last year have fizzled out.

“At this stage, there are no more discussions on the offer (as Technical Trainer with Teqball  Hungary) and I presume it has ended,” said the Penang footballer when contacted by Bernama.

Last December, Mohd Faiz who was then playing for M3 League side Northern Lions Football Club (NLFC), was offered the job as technical trainer for Teqball Hungary, a move which would force him to contemplate giving up his career as a professional footballer.

Subsequently when no decision was made, he signed a contract with another M3 League team Kuala Kangsar FC (KKFC) last March for the 2021 season but which was just cancelled by the Amateur Football League (AFL) due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I am not attached to any team right now, since the M3 League 2021 cancellation. I am therefore open to offers from any team which still has faith in my ability,” said the player who was called up for national camp training in 2012, 2013 and 2015.

Mohd Faiz, who has not shut the door on his career as a professional footballer, feels he is still good for three years of action as he has hit peak form again like during his training days with KKFC.

”And at present I am maintaining my own fitness level,” said the football sensation who made national history with the Puskas Award. 

Mohd Faiz became the first Asian player to win the prestigious Puskas Award before it was won in 2020 by Tottenham Hotspur star Son Heung-min of South Korea.

The fame of his celebrated Puskas goal which helped Penang defeat Pahang 4-1 in the Super League in Februari 2016 elevated Mohd Faiz to the lofty ranks of world stars like Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Neymar, all of whom have won the celebrated award.