Three senators sworn in at Dewan Negara


THREE politicians had sworn in as senators at the Dewan Negara today after being appointed in the cabinet.

They are MCA VP Senator Datuk Seri Ti Lian Ker, Bersatu Supreme Leadership Council (MPT) member Senator Datuk Razali Idris (picture) and Bersatu state VP Senator Md Nasir Hashim.

With the appointments, Dewan Negara president Tan Sri Dr Rais Yatim announced the establishment of two new special select committees – Special Select Committee on People’s Welfare and Special Select Committee on Sociocultural, Communication and Education.

“These two select committees have the legislative power to disentangle every matter related to the people, hoping that the solutions could be implemented by the government.

“The establishments also aligned with the changes in the administration. As stated in Standing Order 18, the people can bring a petition to senators to be debated at the Parliament and the senators have the responsibility to carry those petitions,” he said in his welcoming speech today.

Responding to the cabinet’s plan to reform the Parliament, Rais said such initiative has to be conducted through a proper channel and cannot be executed by only one party.

“Responding to a minister who has been elected to the new cabinet, who said his party will reform the Parliament, I would like to make it clear that a parliamentary reform could not be done by only one individual or a certain party.

“Instead, it has to go through a proper channel. I hope that all Parliamentarians can respect the legislation and use the collective power for the benefit of the people,” he said.

He added that the passive role of the Dewan Negara should be a matter of the past and that the senators should be more dedicated to prioritising the people who have been suffering due to the Covid-19 pandemic.