U-turns and resignations over support for Muhyiddin


MORE u-turns and resignations from Cabinet and government-linked posts from Umno leaders over the issue of support for Prime Minister (PM) Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and Perikatan Nasional (PN).

After Datuk Noraini Ahmad became the latest minister to resign from being the Minister of Higher Education last Friday, two more Umno leaders resigned as the chairman of Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) board of directors with immediate effect.

Supreme Council member Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Dahlan (picture) resigned as the chairman of UMS board of directors with immediate effect over the weekend.

Abdul Rahman, who is also Tuaran Umno division chief, said this was in line with the decision made at the Umno Supreme Council meeting on Aug 3 and as a member of the Supreme Council, he had to adhere to the resolution and remained loyal to the party.

“Therefore, I am resigning as chairman of Universiti Malaysia Sabah board of directors with immediate effect,” he said in a statement.

Balik Pulau Umno division chief Datuk Shah Headan Ayoob Hussain Shah also announced his resignation as a member of Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) board of directors and as UPM Holdings Sdn Bhd director with immediate effect.

Shah Headan, who was the former assemblyman of Teluk Bahang (Penang), cited the same reason with Abdul Rahman, over his decision.

Other resignations included party Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin who quit as the chairman of Boustead Holdings Bhd, and Sabah Umno Youth chief Abdul Aziz Julkarnain, who quit as the Boustead independent and non-ED.

Another Supreme Council member, Datuk Mohd Razlan Rafii had also stepped down from his government-appointed post as a Lembaga Tabung Angkatan Tentera board member.

“I take the responsibility as a party member to continue to abide by and respect any decision and ruling of the party. This decision was made on my volition and not under duress,” he said according to a report by Bernama.

Separately, Umno MP Datuk Nizar Zakaria had also denied his support for Muhyiddin, in line with the party’s stance.

This made him the third MP, whose name was listed in Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob’s list of Muhyiddin and PN supporters, to deny pledging support for the PM.

Last Friday, Tanjung Karang MP Tan Sri Noh Omar and Baling lawmaker Datuk Seri Abdul Azeez Abdul Raheem who were present in a press conference with Ismail Sabri said their signatures on a paper was merely an attendance list.

The list, they said, does not mean that they have switched their stance to withdraw support from Muhyiddin.

Noh and Abdul Azeez were among the MPs who Ismail Sabri named backing Muhyiddin as the PM.

Noh said he remains firm that he has withdrawn his support from the PM, in line with the Umno Supreme Council’s decision this week.

“But the government can still function until the parliamentary session in September for the motion of confidence to take place, unless there is any other directive from the Agong before the sitting, which I will also obey,” he said.

“On the meeting today (Friday), I went to hear the briefing by the deputy PM and have not stated any stance to support the PM,” Noh added.