Perlis, Sarawak, Labuan moving to Phase 3

Under this phase of the NRP, inter-district travel is allowed and almost all economic sectors will be open, says PM


THREE states namely Perlis, Sarawak and Labuan, will move to Phase 3 of the National Recovery Plan (NRP) effective tomorrow, Prime Minsiter (PM) Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said.

“I am pleased to announce that these states will be under Phase 3 as it has seen a positive performance during the period,” he said in his Facebook post yesterday.

This would mean that the people of these states will be allowed to travel inter-district and the re-opening of almost all economic sectors.

Last June, then Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the third phase would see the allowance for all economic sectors except for high-risk sectors, namely spa, pedicure and manicure, as well as pubs and nightclubs.

He added that public transport such as taxis and e-hailing services, including private vehicles, are allowed to have total capacity increased to three people, including drivers.

The third phase would also see the opening of educational institutions, including schools and tertiary studies institutions.

“I would also like to emphasise here that the government’s strategy is to provide vaccinations to as many adults as possible in Malaysia to ensure that the country’s recovery can be carried out smoothly,” the PM said.

Muhyiddin also reiterated that the standard operation procedures (SOPs) relaxation on vaccinated individuals will be announced soon.

“This matter needs to be refined carefully to ensure that the government’s efforts to restore the economy and quality of life of the people can be implemented smoothly and effectively,” Muhyiddin said.

Meanwhile, the Health Ministry said 15,764 Covid-19 cases were recorded yesterday, pushing the cumulative cases to over 1.14 million.

With 6,067 infections, Selangor remained the state with the most infections, followed by Kuala Lumpur with 1,536 cases.

Additionally, Sabah recorded a new high with 1,166 cases, followed with Johor (1,222) and Kedah (1,108).

Other states with a high number of infections included Negri Sembilan (862), Perak (748), Penang (667) and Kelantan (552).

Meanwhile, more cases were recorded in Pahang (475), Melaka (463), Terengganu (425), while Sarawak and Putrajaya recorded a drop in Covid-19 cases of 411 and 46 cases, respectively.

According to Health DG Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah, the number of active cases rose to 199,051. Out of new cases yesterday, 15,758 were local transmission, six cases were imported and 532 patients were intubated.

“In total, 3,525 cases (22.4%) of the total cases reported today had a history of Covid-19 immunisation (had received at least one dose),” Dr Noor Hisham said.

Based on the data, the DG said Malaysia’s infectivity rate now stood at 1.08.

Out of 29 new identified clusters, he said 13 were linked to workplaces.

Malaysia also reported another record-breaking death toll with 219, pushing the total deaths tally to 9,403.

Up to 11,767 patients recovered, bringing the total recoveries to 937,732 (81.8%).

Separately, Senior Foreign Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein said several localities in Sabah, Kelantan and Sarawak will be placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) from tomorrow until Aug 16, 2021.

The EMCO in 10 localities in Dungun, Terengganu, three localities in Pahang, two in Kemaman, Terengganu, and three in Raub, Pahang, namely Kampung Bedu, Kampung Temalian, Kampung Pamah Kulat will also be extended until Aug 17.

The minister also announced that the EMCO at several localities in Pahang, Melaka, Sabah and Kelantan will ends tomorrow.

It was reported that up to 34 premises consisting of factories, business premises, construction sites and worker placement dormitories were ordered to close immediately due to violation of the SOPs.

“375 individuals were detained where 348 were issued with compounds and 27 remanded,” Hishammuddin said.