Two localities in Sabah, one area in Kelantan under EMCO


TWO localities in Sabah and one area in Kelantan will be placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) from tomorrow to July 19.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob (picture) said the localities in Sabah are Kampung Jambatan Baru, Membakut in Beaufort and Blok 6, Kampung Titingan in Tawau.

In Kelantan, the EMCO will be for Ladang Lepan Kabu Quarters (A & B) and part of Kampung Pahi, Kuala Krai.

The existing EMCO at two localities in Sabah namely Kampung Jaya Baru in Kunak and Kampung Serudung Baru in Tawau has been extended.

Meanwhile, the EMCO at three localities in Sabah, namely Ladang Brumas in Kalabakan, Kampung Pulutan in Nabawan, and Taman Wijaya Park in Kota Kinabalu has been lifted.

The same goes for Mukim Tenglu in Mersing, Johor, and five housing estates in Mentakab, Pahang.

The police had arrested 691 individuals on July 3 for various offences. Of that number, 651 were given compounds, 38 were remanded and two were bailed.

Separately, Malaysia recorded 6,045 new Covid-19 cases yesterday, of which 6,025 were local cases.

There were 63 new deaths, increasing the overall Covid-19 death toll to 5,497.

Health DG Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said the highest numbers were Selangor with 2,262 cases, followed by Kuala Lumpur (616) and Negri Sembilan (531).

This has brought the current active cases in the country to 67,669 and the total confirmed cases to 778,652.

Seventeen new Covid-19 clusters were also identified yesterday, of which 11 were workplace clusters.

Among the active cases yesterday, 917 were placed in the intensive care unit, with 443 requiring ventilators.

A total of 5,271 patients have been discharged, increasing the total recoveries to 705,486.