Covid-19: 6,276 new cases, 62 deaths

Some 23 new clusters were detected and identified, increasing the number of active clusters to 886


MALAYSIA’S total active Covid-19 cases to date stand at 64,129 after recording 6,276 new cases yesterday, where 6,260 were local transmissions and 16 imported. This brings the country’s overall total of Covid-19 cases to 751,979.

Health DG Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said Selangor continued to report the highest number of cases at 2,836, followed by Negri Sembilan with 644 cases, Kuala Lumpur (KL) (625), Sarawak (376) and Johor (299).

“Sabah reported 242 cases, Kedah with 226 cases, Melaka (223), Pahang (210), Kelantan (159), Perak (137), Labuan (132) and Penang (131),” he said in a statement yesterday.

Terengganu and Putrajaya recorded double-digit cases with 20 and 11 cases respectively, while Perlis had five new cases.

As of yesterday, 905 patients were admitted into the intensive care unit where 452 patients were intubated.

A total of 4,929 recoveries were registered, bringing the total number of patients discharged nationwide to 682,680 or 90.78% of the total cases.

The country’s Covid-19 death toll, however, climbed to 5,170 cases with 62 new deaths yesterday, including seven brought-in-dead cases.

The oldest fatality was a 104-year-old woman from Negri Sembilan, which reported nine deaths.

Other fatalities were in Selangor with 22 deaths, Melaka (seven), KL (five), Johor (four), three cases each in Sabah and Pahang, two in Kelantan, Perak, Kedah and Labuan, and one in Sarawak.

Additionally, 23 new clusters were detected and identified, increasing the number of active clusters to 886.

Separately, Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) will be implemented at the Jelebu Prison and staff quarters in Negri Sembilan; Kampung Pangkal Jentas in Machang, Kelantan; and Taman Public in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, from July 2 until July 15, 2021.

The minister also said the EMCO for Kampung Landung Ayang in Kudat, Sabah, will be extended until July 15.

Meanwhile, the EMCO in most localities in Sabah will end today, including Kampung Bukit Gemuk and Kampung Tanjung Batu Keramat in Tawau; Etara Housing, Jalan Agaseh, Lahad Datu; Taman Lavender, Kudat; and one locality in Sarawak, namely Kampung Serikin in Bau, Kuching.