Covid-19: Death tally exceeds 5,000


MALAYSIA has more than 5,000 Covid-19 casualties following 57 new fatalities reported yesterday. The country’s Covid-19 the death toll now stands at 5,001 cases.

Health DG Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said yesterday’s deaths were in Selangor (15), Negri Sembilan (13), Johor (6) and Melaka (5).

“Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Perak each had three death cases, while Sarawak, Kedah, Pahang and Kelantan all had two cases each, and one case in Penang,” he said in a statement yesterday.

The country recorded 5,218 new Covid-19 cases yesterday, bringing the total positive cases to 739,266.

Selangor remained with the highest number of cases at 1,989, followed by Negri Sembilan with 629 cases, Kuala Lumpur (469), Sarawak (409) and Perak (400).

Perlis and Putrajaya recorded the lowest cases throughout the country with five and eight cases respectively.

Dr Noor Hisham said there are currently 61,812 active cases, of which 899 patients were admitted into the intensive care unit and 451 intubated.

Malaysia registered 4,744 new recoveries, making the total number of patients discharged to 672,453 to date or 90.96%.

Additionally, 22 new clusters were detected and identified, increasing the number of active clusters to 880.

Separately, Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) will be implemented at localities in Selangor, Sarawak, Sabah and Pahang from June 30 until July 13, 2021.

In Selangor, the EMCO will be enforced in Centralised Labour Quarters (CLQ) Gamuda Gardens in Kundang Jaya, Rawang; Taman Murni in Sepang; Sri Ayu Apartment in Seksyen 4, Bandar Baru Bangi; and CLQ Johan Setia, Kampung Johan Setia in Klang.

Meanwhile in Sabah, to-be EMCO areas are Kampung Linukaan, Kota Marudu; three localities in Kudat namely Kampung Timbagan, Kampung Perpaduan Gumpa and Kampung Perpaduan 2; workers’ house in Ladang Sungai Balung, Tawau; Bata Kampung Durok Factory quarters in Kampung Limbawan Sayur Keningau; and Kampung Pondo in Pulau Gaya, Kota Kinabalu.

In Pahang, only the Taman Benus Jaya Flat in Bentong will be under the EMCO, while in Sarawak, it will be Kampung Tematu, Jalan Batu Kitang, Kuching, and Ladang Mukah 1 workers’ quarters, Sarawak Plantation Agriculture Development Sdn Bhd, Mukah.

Concurrently, Ismail Sabri said the EMCO will be extended from June 30 until July 13 at two localities in Bukit Dinding, Mukah, and the foreign workers’ dormitories at Jalan Rivera, Tanjung Agas in Tangkak, Johor.

At Grace Villa Condo, Kota Kinabalu; Kampung Pengaraban, Kudat; and Kampung Perpaduan, Pulau Banggi, Kudat, the EMCO ended yesterday, earlier than scheduled.

Authorities also arrested 866 individuals for defying the lockdown’s standard operating procedures and of the total, 779 were compounded and 87 remanded.