Covid-19: 5,812 new cases detected


MALAYSIA reported 5,812 Covid-19 new cases today, with Selangor still in the lead at 2,187 cases, followed by Kuala Lumpur (771) and Sarawak (673).

Negeri Sembilan recorded 658 cases, followed by Penang (270), Melaka (223), Johor (196), Kedah (186), Sabah (156), Pahang (139), Labuan (123), Kelantan (98), Perak (72), Terengganu (46) and Putrajaya (14).

This brings the current active cases in the country to 60,117 and the total confirmed cases to 722, 659. 

Eighty-two new deaths were reported, increasing the number of total fatalities to 4,803.

A total of 870 patients have been admitted into the intensive care unit with 433 of them intubated.

Separately, Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said six localities in Sabah and Kuala Lumpur will be put under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO).

They are two localities in Tawau and two in Sandakan, Sabah from June 27 until July 10, while another two localities in Kuala Lumpur will be placed under EMCO from June 26 until July 9.

Ismail Sabri also said that the government will take comprehensive enforcement in terms of inspections on factories and business premises due to a high number of standard operating procedure (SOP) violations.

“The Special Task Force has carried out a total of 1,716 inspections on factories and 11,417 business premises, where two factories and 11 premises were ordered to close,” he said.