EMCO in Sabah, Johor and Pahang from June 22


SEVERAL localities in Sabah, Johor and Pahang will be placed under the Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) starting from June 22 until July 5.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the localities in Sabah are namely Kampung Skim Pamalan in Keningau; Kampung Jaya Baru in Kunak; Taman Wijaya Park in Kota Kinabalu; Kampung Serudung Baru in Tawau; and Ladang Brumas in Kalabakan.

In Johor, the areas that will be under EMCO are in Mukim Tenglu, Mersing, involving Kampung Tanjung Genting, Kampung Benaung, Kampung Makam and Kampung Sawah Datok.

In Pahang, five housing estates in the area of Mentakab, Temerloh District, involving Taman Bukit Bendera, Taman Rimba, Taman Sri Layang, Taman Saga and Taman Saga Indah will be under EMCO.

While the EMCO in Kampung Pulutan, Nabawan in Sabah has been extended, EMCO at five localities in Sabah namely, Kampung Murni C in Nabawan; Kampung Tamalang and Kampung Tuguson in Kota Belud; Kampung Bergosong, Pulau Sebatik in Tawau; Apartment Taman Permata in Sandakan; and Kampung Ongkilan in Kota Marudu will be lifted.

EMCO in two localities in Pahang involving Kampung Jaya Gading, Kampung Seri Damai, Bandar Baru Jaya Gading and Gebeng Industrial Estate in Kuantan have also ended.

The police had arrested a total of 852 individuals on June 19 for various MCO violations of which, 821 were given compounds and 31 were remanded.

Separately, the Health Ministry (MoH) reported a total of 5,293 new Covid-19 cases yesterday, of which 5,286 were local cases and seven were imported.

Health DG Tan Sri Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah said Selangor recorded the highest infections again with 1,680 cases, followed by Negri Sembilan (693) and Sarawak (661).

Johor recorded a total of 627 cases, followed by Kuala Lumpur (379), Perak (205), Melaka (183), Kedah (170), Kelantan (167), Sabah (163), Labuan (156), Penang (114), Pahang (77), Terengganu (12), Putrajaya (4) and Perlis (2).

This has brought the current active cases in the country to 63,815 and the total confirmed cases to 696,408.

Nineteen new Covid-19 clusters were identified yesterday, of which 11 were workplace clusters, five community clusters, two high-risk groups clusters, and one detention centre cluster.

Among the active cases yesterday, 880 were placed in the intensive care unit, with 454 of them requiring ventilators.

There were also 60 new deaths reported nationwide yesterday, increasing the overall Covid-19 death toll to 4,408.

A total of 5,941 patients have been discharged, increasing the total recovered cases in the country to 628,185.