Arifin also appointed as trustee of YPB effective yesterday


YAYASAN Pelaburan Bumiputra (YPB) announced the appointment of Tun Arifin Zakaria (picture) as the new group chairman of Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) and trustee of YPB effective May 6, 2021.

Arifin was judge of the High Court of Malaya from 2008 to 2011.

Prior to that, he had served in numerous capacities in the Judicial Office as well as the Legal Department of the government of Malaysia.

In 1992, Arifin was appointed as judicial commissioner of the High Court of Malaya, and two years later as High Court judge of Malaya, after which he was elevated to the Court of Appeal of Malaysia in 2002 and the Federal Court of Malaysia in 2005.

He succeeds Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz, who officially retired from her position as PNB group chairman on April 30, 2021. She did not renew her tenure as YPB chairman upon the completion for her three-year term.

YPB also announced the appointment of Datin Norazah Razali to the PNB board of directors effective May 6, 2021.

Norazah is currently a senior advisor at Boston Consulting Group, supporting and advising businesses and organisations across South-East Asia.

She brings with her over 20 years of strategic and management consulting experience, specialising in business and organisational transformation, restructuring, growth-led strategy, talent and leadership development and governance.

“The board, management and staff of PNB wish a warm welcome to Arifin and Norazah to the PNB board and look forward to their stewardship of the institution and the assets that we manage on behalf of over 14 million Malaysians,” said PNB president and group CEO Ahmad Zulqarnain Onn.

Separately, Zeti also retired from being the chairman of Sime Darby Property Bhd.

In an exchange filing yesterday, the property firm named Rizal Rickman Ramli, 43, as her successor effective today.

Prior to his appointment, Rizal was PNB’s CIO for private and strategic investments.

Following Rizal’s appointment, the company announced changes in its composition of the board tender committee. Rizal, a non-independent non-ED of Sime Darby Property has relinquished his role as a member of the board tender committee.

“Accordingly, the composition of the board tender committee comprises its independent non-ED Tengku Datuk Seri Ahmad Shah Sultan Salahuddin as chairman,” Sime Darby Property noted yesterday.

The members of the board include Sime Darby Property group MD Datuk Azmir Merican Azmi Merican, its senior independent non-ED Datuk Jaganath Derek Steven Sabapathy, independent non-EDs Datuk Seri Ahmad Johan Mohammad Raslan and Datuk Soam Heng Choon,” it said in a filing to Bursa Malaysia.


Tuesday, September 18, 2018

The jewels under SD Property

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

PNB CEO Rahman said to be leaving

Friday, September 17, 2021

King and Queen make special visit to UK