Tun Arifin Zakaria appointed AIAC Advisory Council chairman


KUALA LUMPUR – Former Chief Justice Tun Arifin Zakaria (picture) has been appointed as the chairman of the Asian International Arbitration Centre (AIAC) Advisory Council for a two-year term, effective April 1.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan in a statement here today said Attorney-General Tan Sri Idrus Harun, Tan Sri Sulong Matjeraie, Datuk Dr Prasad Sandosham Abraham, Raja Datuk Ahmad Mohzanuddin Shah Raja Mohzan, Datuk Nitin Nadkarni and Dr Wafi Nazrin Abdul Hamid were among those appointed as members of the council.

Other appointed members were Tan Swee Im, Professor Doug Jones AO (Australia), Dr Hassan Arab (United Arab Emirates), Monica Feria Tinta (United Kingdom), Khawar Qureshi QC (United Kingdom) and Vyapak Desai (India),” he said.

Takiyuddin said the roles of the members of the council are determining strategies and action plans to strengthen the AIAC, increase its activities and assist its director, Tan Sri Suriyadi Halim Omar.

He said the appointment of local and foreign members of the council was made based on their expertise and experiences in the alternative dispute resolution (ADR) industry in their respective countries.

The minister also expressed hope that, with the appointment of the new chairman and members of the council, AIAC will continue to excel as a world-leading ADR institution and arbitration centre.