CMCO in five states until April 28

by TMR

THE government has decided to extend the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) in four states – Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Penang, Johor and Kelantan until April 28 this year as Malaysia is facing the risk of a fourth wave of Covid infections. 

The CMCO will also remain in Sarawak until April 26 this year, said Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob in a press conference today.

Other states, Perlis, Kedah, Perak, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Terengganu, Sabah, Putrajaya and Labuan will remain in the Recovery MCO (RMCO) until April 28.

Ismail Sabri added that the interstate travelling will still be banned for now.

On Ramadan bazaars, the minister said while it is still allowed, state governments may impose stricter SOPs to curb the virus transmission.

The breaking fast events such as Ramadan buffet at hotels, restaurants and other premises will be allowed, as long as it adheres to strict SOPs.