Six states to undergo MCO – no interstate travel nationwide



SIX states, -Penang, Selangor, Federal Territories, Melaka, Johor and Sabah will undergo the Movement Control Order (MCO) from Jan 13 until 26.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said for these six states, no inter-district travel will be allowed.

“Those states that have been imposed with an MCO are the ones having high risk based on risk assessments done by the Health Ministry and its healthcare services capacity almost reaching a maximum capacity,” Muhyiddin said in a live broadcast today.

The government also bans interstate travel nationwide.

Additionally, Muhyiddin said five economic sectors – manufacturing, services, trade, plantation and construction remain operational.

He added that Trade and Industry ministry will give more details on the SOP for these essential economic sectors.

Muhyiddin said only 30% of the management group is allowed to be at the office while the number of support staff is to be determined by the company.
For other sectors or services that are not listed as essentials, he said a work-from-home order is enforced.  
He said supermarkets, healthcare services including clinics, hospitals and pharmacies and banks are allowed to operate in the MCO areas with high alert.
Students and major examination candidates such as those who are taking the Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia for the 2020/2021 session are allowed to go to school with strict standard operating procedures.
15 Covid-19 hospitals have recorded non-intensive care unit (ICU) bed utilisation at over 70%.

ICU bed utilisation for Covid-19 patients at Hospital Kuala Lumpur and University Malaya Medical Centre has reached 100% while Hospital Sungai Buloh is at 83%.

The ICU bed utilisation rate has hit over 70% in five states namely Perak, Selangor, Melaka, Terengganu and Sarawak.

Following the announcement of movement control order (MCO) and enhanced SOPs,  the government will furnish more details tomorrow at 5pm.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that although the Prime Minister has announced the MCO alongside tightening of SOP, further details will be announced later.“At the same time, ministries that are related such as the Education Ministry, International Trade and Industry Ministry as well as Works Ministry will also be announcing the related SOP relevant to their own ministries,” he said in the daily MCO update statement.

In the same statement, he also announced the ending of enhanced MCO (EMCO) in a few locations, namely the Kamunting Correctional Centre and its Staff Quarters except for its Transit Centre, Kampung Paginatan and Kampung Maringkan, Ranau, as well as Madrasah Daril naim, Padang Halban, Mukim Peringat, Kota Bharu, Kelantan.