All schools to close until next year, exams postponed

In the meantime, teaching and learning will continue through home-based learning according to the suitability of teachers and students


ALL schools nationwide will be closed from Nov 9 until Dec 17, the last day of the school term this year as the government implements a Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) in most states.

Senior Minister (Education) Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin said during the period, teaching and learning will continue through home-based learning according to the suitability of teachers and students. He said the school term for next year will start on Jan 20, 2021.

All primary school students, Form 1 Form 4, Form 5 and Form 6 students, as well as vocational college students will begin a face-to-face schooling session on the date.

However, Form 2 and Form 3 students will start with online learning and return to school for physical learning on March 8, 2021.

“Taking into account the current situation, the Education Ministry (MoE) has made a decision to amend the date of the examination.

“Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia/Sijil Vokasional Malaysia/Sijil Tinggi Agama Malaysia examinations will start on Feb 22, 2021.

“Meanwhile, the Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia examination will start on March 8, 2021,” Mohd Radzi said in a press conference yesterday.

MoE said the candidates will be continuing with face-to-face learning sessions in their respective schools from Jan 20, 2021, to help them prepare for the examinations.

As at 12pm yesterday, Malaysia recorded 852 new Covid-19 cases, bringing the number of positive cases to 40,209.

Sabah reported the highest number of cases at 524 (61.5%), followed by the Klang Valley at 161 cases (18.9%) and Labuan with 24 cases (2.8%).

There were 13 imported cases involving eight citizens and five non-citizens arriving from Indonesia (three cases), Saudi Arabia (three), Nepal (two), Morocco (one), UAE (one), UK (one), Turkey (one and South Korea (one).

Four new deaths were also recorded, bringing the total number of death tolls to 286 or 0.7% of the total number of cases.

Two clusters ended yesterday, namely Putra cluster in Bintulu, Sarawak, and Quarters cluster in Tongod, Telupid and Kinabatangan, Sabah.

However, two new clusters were found, namely the Ikhtisas cluster in the Klang Valley, Kelantan and Negri Sembilan, and Berendam cluster in Melaka.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the Royal Malaysia Police (PRDM) has made 53,389 inspections on Saturday, to monitor and enforce compliance with the standard operating procedures during Recovery MCO (RMCO).

PDRM has arrested 519 individuals for defaulting RMCO instructions.

Of that number, a total of 511 individuals were compounded, four remanded while four were bailed out.

Among the offences were failing to comply with social distancing (206), not wearing a face mask (126) and failing to provide personal details record (67).