CMCO in Mukim 12 involves six areas, 150,000 people – Chow


THE Penang government today announced that the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO) in Mukim 12 Barat Daya district will involve areas in Bayan Lepas, Bayan Baru, Queensbay, Bayan Lepas Free Trade Zone, Sungai Ara and Batu Maung.

Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said that as a whole it involves 26.7 square kilometres and an estimated population of 150,000.

The Penang National Security Council (MKNPP) has prepared a complete CMCO standard operating procedure (SOP) and submitted it to the federal government.

Read more: Mukim 12 in Penang to undergo CMCO

“Economic and industrial activities in the CMCO area can operate according to the SOP but movement in and out of the CMCO area is not allowed. Only workers with valid employee passes or letters from employers are allowed to travel for work reasons,” he said in a statement after discussions with the MKNPP director about the SOP today.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced yesterday that Mukim 12 in the Barat Daya district, Penang would be under the CMCO from Nov 6 to 19.

Chow said that the CMCO SOP stipulates that only two people are allowed in a vehicle to purchase food or necessities, medication and other items, while high-risk individuals and children are not encouraged to go out to public areas, in open or crowded spaces.

Sports and recreational activities that do not involve physical contact and can be done individually in an open area with no more than 10 people at once, are allowed.

In addition, public transport services such as stage buses, express buses and taxis or e-hailing services are allowed to operate.

Chow said that the federal government would release a detailed SOP soon.

He also asked those involved, especially residents in Mukim 12, to remain calm and adhere to the CMCO SOP.

Yesterday, the Education Ministry, in a statement, announced that all 56 schools and educational institutions, including private schools in the Barat Daya district, have been ordered to close from Nov 6 till 20 after the area was declared a red zone by the Health Ministry.