EMCO at Pokok Sena Prison extended till Nov 7 – Ismail Sabri


The Enhanced Movement Control Order (EMCO) at the Pokok Sena Prison in Kedah has been extended for another 14 days until Nov 7.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said the extension was made upon the recommendation of the National Security Council (NSC) and the advice of the Ministry of Health (MOH) to ensure that the COVID-19 chain of infection is broken, especially among prison staff.

“Screenings done by MOH as of yesterday have found that there are still positive cases among prisoners and prison staff,” he said in a statement on the latest developments in the Movement Control Order (MCO) today.

The government previously announced the implementation of EMCO at the Pokok Sena Prison from Oct 11 to 24.

Meanwhile, he said the government had agreed to end the EMCO at the Tawau Prison and Taman Ehsan (Tawau Prison) staff quarters in Sabah on Oct 25, as scheduled.

“As of Oct 21, 2020, MOH has conducted 1,250 screenings at the Tawau Prison, and 1,196 screenings at the Taman Ehsan staff quarters. As of now, no active cases have been recorded at the Tawau Prison while there are only two cases at the Taman Ehsan staff quarters who are receiving treatment,” he said.

Ismail Sabri said, however, the locality in Sabah was still subject to the state-wide implementation of the Conditional Movement Control Order (CMCO).

Meanwhile, he said 639 individuals were detained for violating the Recovery Movement Control Order (RMCO), with 634 individuals compounded, while four were remanded and one out on bail.

Ismail Sabri said 38 illegal immigrants were arrested under the Ops Benteng operation yesterday, with two boats and three land vehicles seized.

Regarding public sanitisation, he said a total of 29 operations were carried out yesterday, covering six red zones, 12 yellow zones and eight green zones in Kedah (five operations); Melaka (five); Sabah (four); Sarawak (three); Negeri Sembilan, Penang and Terengganu (two each) and one each in Pahang, Perlis, Perak, Kuala Lumpur, Labuan and Putrajaya yesterday.