Four districts in Sabah to be placed under TEMCO from midnight


Four districts in Sabah, namely, Lahad Datu, Tawau, Kunak and Semporna, will be placed under the administrative Targeted Enhanced Movement Control Order (TEMCO) from midnight tonight until Oct 12.

Senior Minister (Security Cluster) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said that the administrative TEMCO involving 962,661 residents will be implemented to curb the transmission of COVID-19 infection in the four districts as well as to enable targeted case tracking activities to be carried out over a period of 14 days.

“The Health Ministry (MOH) has confirmed that there were 1,195 positive cases of COVID-19 infection in Lahad Datu, Tawau, Kunak and Semporna districts during the period Sept 1 to 27, with Lahad Datu recording 241 cases, Tawau (634), Kunak (65) and Semporna (255).

“Taking into account the number of cases, the government, on the advice of Health Minister (Datuk Seri Dr Adham Baba), has decided to implement an administrative TEMCO in these areas,” he said in a statement today.

Ismail Sabri said that during the implementation of the administrative TEMCO, all residents are prohibited from leaving the affected areas while non-residents and visitors are not allowed to enter the four districts involved during the enforcement period.

All business activities will be halted except for essential goods and services in the four districts involved, while medical bases will be opened in the TEMCO areas.

In fact, he said that all entry points to and from the TEMCO areas will be closed.

To ensure full compliance, the Royal Malaysia Police (PDRM), Malaysian Armed Forces (MAF), Malaysian Civil Defence Force (APM), Malaysian Volunteer Corps Department (RELA), local authorities and authorised personnel will control all areas involved.

“For the implementation of this order, all residents are asked to remain calm and give full cooperation to the staff from the MOH and comply with all directives issued by the authorities,” he said.

Residents who need help or have any questions can contact the district police headquarters, namely, Lahad Datu (089-881255), Tawau (089-752222), Kunak (089-851222) and Semporna (089-782020).