Shafie retains Senallang seat but Warisan loses in Sabah election


KOTA KINABALU – Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal retained his Senallang seat in the 16th Sabah election yesterday but his Parti Warisan Sabah and its allies lost in the polls.

The caretaker chief minister polled 6,393 votes to win by a majority of 4,631 votes, a reduction from the 5,909-vote majority he secured in the 14th General Election in 2018.

Warisan and its allies DAP, PKR and UPKO won 32 seats, five short of the 37-seat simple majority to form the government. Perikatan Nasional (PN) and its allies Barisan Nasional (BN) and Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) won 38 seats and claimed victory.

Shafie’s main challenger, Norazman Utoh Nain of Perikatan Nasional (PN), polled 1,732 votes in the five-cornered contest.

Mohammad Ramzan Abdul Wahab of USNO received 61 votes; Madjalis Lais of PCS, 51; and D. Pg. Ahmad Datu Ali Alam of PPRS, 39.