Sabah election: Party chiefs Anifah, Pandikar Amin, Wilfred defeated


KOTA KINABALU – Three political stalwarts were defeated in the 16th Sabah state election today.

They included PCS president Datuk Seri Anifah Aman, who ran for the Bongawan seat, and USNO chief Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia, who lost in the Pintasan constituency.

UPKO president Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau also suffered the same fate in the Kiulu seat.

Based on the data displayed by the Election Commission (EC), former foreign minister Anifah garnered 3,598 votes compared to incumbent Daud Yusof of Warisan, who obtained 5,400 votes to win in the four-cornered contest.

Pandikar Amin failed in his comeback bid, losing in a six-cornered battle in the new Pintasan seat to Perikatan Nasional (PN) candidate Fairus Renddan with a slim majority of 84 votes.

Pandikar Amin earned 2,660 votes while Fairuz, 2,744.

Meanwhile, Madius, a former deputy chief minister, lost to incumbent Datuk Joniston Bangkuai from PBS in a six-cornered fight, obtaining 2,786 votes compared to Joniston’s 4,007 votes.

In the Inanam seat, former chief minister Tan Sri Chong Kah Kiat lost in a 10-cornered tussle, obtaining only 1,606 votes to lose his deposit.

The LDP honorary life president lost to PKR candidate Peto Galim, who garnered 8,586 votes to win with a majority of 5,638 votes.