Bung Moktar wins Lamag seat with 661-vote majority


KOTA KINABALU – Sabah Barisan Nasional (BN) chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin defeated Wira Warisan deputy chief Mohd Ismail Ayub by 661 votes to win the Lamag seat in a five-cornered fight in the 16th Sabah state election today.

Bung Moktar, 61, the Member of Parliament for Kinabatangan, polled 3,035 votes while Mohd Ismail Ayob obtained 2,374 votes.

The other three candidates – Razman Mayah (PCS), Sairin Abd Rahman (PPRS) and Junny @ Karuak Abdullah (Independent) – all lost their deposits after failing to obtain at least one-eighth or 12.5 per cent of the total valid votes.