Rapid aims to attract more bus riders with new look


PRASARANA Malaysia Bhd through its subsidiary, Rapid Bus Sdn Bhd, hopes to increase ridership following the revamping of its light rail transit (LRT) feeder buses.

According to Prasarana, the average daily passenger number of LRT feeder bus is 963,000 people per month, compared to the mass rail transit (MRT) feeder bus that has an average number of passengers of 1.3 million people per month.

Its chairman Datuk Seri Tajuddin Abdul Rahman said the feeder buses’ new look will attract the attention of the public and allow them to differentiate between regular Rapid KL buses and LRT feeder buses.

“The new look is definitely interesting, so when many are interested, they will use its service. It is a profit for us when we can serve the public, our priority is not about monetary profit,” he told reporters at the launch in Kuala Lumpur earlier today.

The initiative is part of the company’s pilot project involving 33 buses operating along 10 routes as well as restructuring three of its feeder buses routes namely T221, T250 and T223.

It also includes the rescheduling of several routes and sharing information to the public via social media, Google Maps and Moovit applications.

Tajuddin said the cost for the refurbishment is around RM3,000 per bus which can carry up to 67 pax, adding that the service frequency will be every 15 minutes during peak hours.

“We believe that the majority of our passengers’ commute for work and studies. We want to make the people more productive and mobility of manpower is crucial to economic activity,” he said.

He added that eventually all LRT stations will have its own feeder buses but at the moment, Rapid KL will collect feedback and data for further planning purposes if it is suitable to expand for other LRT routes.

Currently, the routes involved are T200 (Gombak LRT Station – International Islamic University Malaysia Gombak), T202 (Taman Melati LRT Station – Taman Melewar), T221 (Sri Rampai LRT Station – Taman Melawati), T201 (Gombak LRT Station – Wira Damai Hub), and T203 (Taman Melati LRT Station – Danau Kota).

Other routes included are T222 (Sri Rampai LRT Station – UKAY Perdana), T250 (Wangsa Maju LRT Station – Jalan Genting Klang PV16), T251 (Sri Rampai LRT Station – Section 10 Wangsa Maju), T223 (Setiawangsa LRT Station – AU3, Jentayu, Keramat), and T224 (Dato’ Keramat LRT Station – Desa Pandan).