Muhyiddin wins Bersatu president post

The inaugural party election also elected permanent chairman, deputy permanent chairman and 20 SC members


PRIME Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (picture) and Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faizal Azumu are the official president and deputy president of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) respectively for the 2019-2022 term.

Both were the sole candidates contesting for their posts while the party chairman post was not contested.

Party election committee chairman Tan Sri Syed Hamid Albar said the three elected VP are Agriculture and Food Industries Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee, Senior Minister (Education) Dr Radzi Jidin and Paya Rumput assemblyman Datuk Mohd Rafiq Naizamohideen.

“A total of 23,438 delegates cast their votes in the divisional meetings nationwide on Saturday,” he said in a statement yesterday.

He said from the 179 divisions eligible to hold their meeting, only 177 divisions were able to hold their meetings as the other two divisions failed to convene meetings due to the lack of quorum.

According to Syed Hamid, the election held for the first time also elected the permanent chairman, deputy permanent chairman and 20 Supreme Council (SC) members.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Economy) Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, Deputy Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ikmal Hisham Abdul Aziz, Deputy Works Minister Datuk Eddin Syazlee Shith and Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Parliament and Law) Datuk Shabudin Yahaya are among the SC members.