Wan Zulkiflee appointed DRB-Hicom non-ED


FORMER Petroliam Nasional Bhd (Petronas) CEO Tan Sri Wan Zulkiflee Wan Ariffin (picture) has been appointed as an independent non-ED of DRB-Hicom Bhd.

The appointment took effect from Aug 1, 2020, the group said in a recent statement.

Other members of DRB-Hicom’s board of directors are Datuk Mohammad Zainal Shaari, Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar Syed AR Albar, Datuk Ibrahim Taib, Datuk Ooi Teik Huat, Datuk Idris Abdullah and Sharifah Sofea Syed Mokhtar Shah.

Wan Zulkiflee, 60, is currently serving as non-executive group chairperson of Malaysia Airlines Bhd (MAB) and Malaysia Aviation Group Bhd since July 1 this year.

Prior to joining MAB, he was president and group CEO of Petronas from April 2015 until June 2020.

He began his career at Petronas in 1983 as a process engineer involved in the development of several gas-processing plants before becoming MD and CEO of Petronas’ subsidiary, Petronas Gas Bhd (PetGas) from 2003 to 2007.

He was also chairperson of PetGas from 2008 to 2010, and VP of Petronas’ gas business from 2006 to 2010.

In 2012, he was appointed as Petronas COO, in addition to becoming the executive VP and CEO of Petronas’ downstream business.

Wan Zulkiflee has also served as the chairperson of Petronas Chemicals Group Bhd and Petronas Dagangan Bhd, and as pro chancellor of Universiti Teknologi Petronas.

He holds a Bachelor of Engineering in Chemical Engineering from the University of Adelaide, South Australia.