BN, allies to contest 73 seats in Sabah


SABAH Barisan Nasional (BN) and allied parties including Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia, Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS) and STAR will be contesting in all 73 seats of the State Legislative Assembly in the coming state election.

Sabah BN comprises Umno, MCA and Parti Bersatu Rakyat Sabah (PBRS).

Sabah BN chairman Datuk Seri Bung Moktar Radin (picture) said BN will be holding negotiations with its allied parties on the division of seats for the election in a day or two, and assured that negotiations would be completed in two weeks.

“Today, we decided that we will be contesting in 73 seats to challenge Parti Warisan Sabah. This means Sabah Umno will be negotiating in a day or two with our allies who are not pro-Warisan.

“This is important as we want to ensure victory in the coming state election,” he said after chairing an Umno political and liaison bureau meeting at the state Umno headquarters in Kota Kinabalu yesterday.

The Sabah Umno liaison committee chairman said after completing negotiations, the party will finalise the seats to be contested including the announcement of the full list of candidates for the state election.

Sabah Umno is now identifying eligible candidates to contest on the party’s ticket and will be fielding 85% to 90% new faces, he said.

For the state election, Bung Moktar said Sabah Umno hopes to contest more than the 32 seats contested during the 14th General Election.

Confirmed that he will be contesting in the new Lamag state constituency, Bung Mokhtar said this election will be extraordinary for all parties including Warisan.

“However, what is important is that we (Umno) should assure the voters and people in the urban and rural areas, as well as youths, that this election is (conducted) in the new normal and the people will be waiting for new offers which could be fulfilled and implemented.

“Sabah Umno will be giving new offers (in this election) to ensure stability, security and the economic development of the people.”

When asked who will be the Sabah chief

minister (CM) from Umno, Bung Mokhtar said: “There are many candidates (for CM). I could, my deputy could (Datuk Jeffrey Arifin), Datuk (Abdul) Rahman (Dahlan) also could be CM.”

The Sabah state election was called following the dissolution of the State Assembly announced by CM Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal last Thursday after receiving consent from the Yang Dipertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin.