Yayasan Pelaburan Bumiputera welcomes new board members

It is the latest in the list of new appointments of key roles taking place in the country over the past week


PERMODALAN Nasional Bhd (PNB) announced two new appointments to the Yayasan Pelaburan Bumiputera (YPB) board of trustees comprising four members, as notified by the Minister of Finance Inc.

In a statement yesterday, PNB said Prime Minister (PM) Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin (picture; left) has assumed the position of chairman of YPB, while Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz (right) has been appointed as the deputy chairman.

YPB said the two new appointments were made effective April 14. “There are no changes for the two existing members of the board of trustees, namely Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar Aziz and Tan Sri Ambrin Buang,” PNB said.

Zeti is the group chairman of PNB which is the investment subsidiary of YPB, and Ambrin is the former Auditor-General of Malaysia and private sector representative.

“The boards of YPB and PNB welcome the new appointments to YPB’s board of trustees and will work with their stewardship towards taking PNB forward as it strives to become a distinctive world class investment house and continues to generate sustainable returns for its 14 million unit holders.

“The boards also thank the previous chairman of YPB, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad, and previous alternate chairman, Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali, for their guidance and contributions during their tenure,” PNB said.

PNB is one of the largest fund management companies in Malaysia with assets under management exceeding RM300 billion.

PNB’s portfolio covers strategic investments in Malaysia’s leading corporates, global equities, private investments and real estate.

This development is the latest in the list of new appointments of key roles taking place in the country over the past week.

Earlier, The Malaysian Reserve reported that Tan Sri Abdul Wahid Omar has taken over the non-executive chairman of Bursa Malaysia Bhd effective May 1, following the retirement of Datuk Shireen Ann Zaharah Muhiudeen on April 30.

Meanwhile, Datin Mariam Prudence Yusof, who will be retiring as a public interest director and non-ED of Bursa Malaysia on April 30, will be succeeded by Datuk Anad Krishnan Muthusamy, effective April 23.

Malaysian Aviation Commission executive chairman Dr Nungsari Ahmad Radhi, meanwhile, had tendered his resignation, according to an industry source.

He sent his resignation letter to the PM’s Office early this month.


Thursday, August 27, 2020

The silent majority is watching

Thursday, September 24, 2020

Anwar bids to form a new govt

Wednesday, March 24, 2021

KBDC aims to restart stalled projects

Wednesday, February 24, 2021

More data on vaccines could dispel doubt