31 Cabinet ministers all sworn in before King


ALL 31 new Cabinet ministers were sworn in before the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah at Istana Melawati here today.

Also attending and witnessing the ministers took their oaths of office, loyalty and secrecy was Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah.

The ceremony held at the Balairung Seri or the throne room of the palace began at 3 pm with the singing of national anthem Negaraku.

Also present were Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin and his wife, Puan Sri Noorainee Abdul Rahman, as well as Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Abdul Hamid Bador and Chief of Defence ForceTan Sri Affendi Buang.

After taking their oaths, the ministers than signed the official instrument of appointment, witnessed by Chief Justice Tan Sri Tengku Maimun Tuan Mat and Chief Secretary to the Government Datuk Seri Mohd Zuki Ali.

The swearing-in ceremony was held following the Cabinet announcement made by Muhyiddin yesterday.

The ministers took their oaths in groups, with the first group of seven comprising the four senior ministers namely Mohamed Azmin Ali (International Trade and Industry Minister) (picture), Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri (Defence Minister), Fadillah Yusof (Works Minister) and Senator Dr Mohd Radzi Md Jidin (Education Minister).

The other three in the group were Senator Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Aziz (Finance Minister), Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong (Transport Minister) and Datuk Seri Dr Maximus Johnity Ongkili (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department – Sabah and Sarawak Affairs).

The second group comprised Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man (Environment Minister), Datuk Seri M Saravanan (Human Resource Minister), Datuk Seri Rina Mohd Harun (Women and Family Minister), Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad (Higher Education Minister), Datuk Seri Mohd Redzuan Md Yusof (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department – Special Functions), Datuk Seri Dr Ronald Kiandee (Agriculture and Food Industry Minister) and Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department – Economy).