TM, MAHB among winners for energy efficiency in 2019 NEA

NEA is an initiative by MESTECC to recognise energy efficient and RE practices across public and private sectors


COMPANIES across various industries and fields grabbed top honours in Malaysia’s 2019 National Energy Awards (NEA) for best practices in energy efficiency and renewable energy (RE).

The second edition of the awards received a total of 145 applications, where 77 organisations were qualified to participate in the two broad categories of energy efficiency and RE. This was higher than 105 applications submitted for 2018’s NEA.

The NEA is an initiative by the Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment and Climate Change (MESTECC) to recognise energy efficient and RE practices across public and private sectors, while encouraging further innovation in the field.

Its Minister Yeo Bee Yin said the NEA is a cornerstone in the joint venture between the government and the private sector for innovations in products, solutions and commercialisation towards a green economy.

“It is my aspiration to see NEA evolve to be the leading platform for sustainable energy industry players to convene, network and share best practices with one another.

“It is on this note that I would like to see more industry associations and chambers to be part of this programme,” she said during the award ceremony in Kuala Lumpur last week.

She said the response from applicants was encouraging as it showed the growing commitment by Malaysian businesses and institutions to adopt sustainable practices in their operations.

Malaysian Green Technology Corp, which operates under the purview of MESTECC, is the implementing agency for the awards as part of its mandate to develop and promote green technology as an engine for Malaysia’s socio-economic growth.

Its acting CEO Syed Ahmad Syed Mustafa said the NEA will encourage more organisations and industries to get involved in this field, while providing a platform to recognise their initiatives.

“The aim is to encourage more companies to be involved in RE and energy efficiency in order to go for more sustainability, as well as energy security.

“In energy efficiency, we want more optimisation of energy usage conservation, so that people can save cost and, at the same time, save the environment,” he told The Malaysian Reserve after the event.

Winners of the NEA in 2019 will go on to represent Malaysia in the Asean Energy Awards (AEA) scheduled in September in Thailand. The previous 19 NEA winners in 2018 represented the country in the Asean awards held in Singapore last year, 10 of which took home an award.

“(The AEA) will put us on the map where we can position ourselves as a hub that promotes the utilisation of RE, as well as the conservation of energy or energy efficiency,” Syed Ahmad said.

The first category for the 2019 NEA, namely energy efficiency, received 17 submissions for energy efficient buildings and 27 applications for energy management.

Winners in this category were Telekom Malaysia Bhd (TM) for its Menara TM building in Melaka; Malaysia Airports Holdings Bhd’s (MAHB) Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA2) terminal; PDC Setia Urus Sdn Bhd for Menara Komtar in Pulau Pinang; Kualiti Alam Sdn Bhd for its Environmental Reservation and Innovation Centre in Negri Sembilan; and CSC Steel Holdings Bhd for energy management. The second category was for RE and a total of 33 companies and organisations submitted entries.

The winners were Cypark Resources Bhd for its floating solar project in Negri Sembilan and FGV Palm Industries Sdn Bhd for its renewable biogas project which provides electricity to the Umas community in Tawau.

Meanwhile, KUB Berjaya Energy Sdn Bhd, Gan Teng Siew Realty Sdn Bhd, Mattan Engineering Sdn Bhd, Amcorp Perting Hydro Sdn Bhd and the Menara KEN building took home merit awards during the 2019 NEA which concluded on Aug 1.