Yeah, Gan appointed as BNM MPC members


Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM) has re-appointed Professor Dr Yeah Kim Leng (picture) as the external member of its Monetary Policy Committee (MPC) for a one-year term.

The central bank has also named Datuk Dr Gan Wee Beng as a new external member of the committee for a two-year term. Both appointments take effect on April 1, 2019.

“The appointments of Yeah and Gan will continue to enhance the collective expertise and experience relevant to the responsibilities and functions of the MPC,” BNM noted in a statement yesterday.

With their appointments, the MPC will comprise seven members in total, including BNM governor Datuk Nor Shamsiah Yunus, deputy governor Datuk Abdul Rasheed Ghaffour, deputy governor Jessica Chew Cheng Lian, assistant governor Norzila Abdul Aziz and assistant governor Marzunisham Omar.