Sime Darby Property appoints new CFO


Sime Darby Property Bhd has appointed Betty Lau Sui Hing (picture) as its new group CFO effective April 1, 2019.

She succeeded Datuk Tong Poh Keow who retired from the position on March 31, 2019.

“We are pleased to welcome Lau to the Sime Darby Property family. Her wealth of knowledge and experience will definitely strengthen our senior management team considerably,” Sime Darby Property COO Datuk Wan Hashimi AlBakri Wan Ahmad Amin Jaffri said in a statement yesterday.

As the new group CFO, Lau will oversee the full spectrum of financial management of the group, primarily providing strategic financial leadership and support to the senior management and the board, implementing transformation initiatives across all business segments for better efficiency.

Prior to joining Sime Darby Property, Lau was the CFO of Malaysia Land Sdn Bhd, Hatten Land Ltd and IOI Properties Group Bhd.

She is a Fellow of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, a member of the Malaysian Institute of Accountants and a member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators.

Lau’s appointment is part of the group’s effort to strengthen its senior management team and position the company for future growth.

Wan Hashimi AlBakri, who has been with Sime Darby Property for almost 15 years, was the former CEO of Ne-
gara Properties (M) Bhd which is now part of the group as well.

He will assume the acting group CEO position effective May 3, 2019, following the resignation of Datuk Seri Amrin Awaluddin.

In an exchange filing earlier this month, the board of directors accepted the early cessation of Amrin’s employment contract.

Amrin was appointed as a director of the company on July 12, 2017, before being appointed as the group MD on Aug 24, 2017.

He also sits on the board of Taliworks Corp Bhd and CIMB Bank Bhd. He will cease as a member of the board tender committees with effect from May 3, 2019.

The board tender committees comprises Tengku Datuk Seri Ahmad Shah Alhaj ibni Almarhum Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Alhaj as the chairman; Datuk Jaganath Derek Steven Sabapathy; Datuk Seri Ahmad Johan Mohammad Raslan and Rizal Rickman Ramli as the members.