PNB appoints four new board members


Government-linked investment company Permodalan Nasional Bhd (PNB) has announced the appointment of four new members to its board of directors, effective Jan 1.

In a statement issued today, PNB said Datuk Ahmad Badri Mohd Tahir, Tan Sri Datuk Zainun Ali, Datuk Dr Nik Ramlah Nik Mahmood and Datuk Johan Ariffin will succeed its members retiring on Dec 31.

The retiring members are Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa, Tan Sri Dr Wan Abdul Aziz Wan Abdullah and Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar.

Ahmad Badri, who is also secretary-general of treasury, has served the Ministry of Finance for more than 25 years.

Zainun, who is a former Federal Court Judge in Malaysia, has held various positions in the Legal and Judicial Service.

Nik Ramlah is the former Securities Commission Malaysia (SC) deputy chief executive, and currently serves as a member of the Board of Directors of Amanah Saham Nasional Berhad (ASNB).

Johan, who has vast experience in property development, banking and insurance, is Mitraland Group of Companies and Pelaburan Hartanah Nasional Berhad chairman. He is also a board member of a number of public listed companies including Sime Darby Property Berhad.

Meanwhile, PNB Group Chairman Tan Sri Dr Zeti Aziz welcomed the appointment of the new members.

“I am pleased to welcome the distinguished line up of new members to the PNB Board, who possess between them extensive and complementary experience in their respective fields of investment, law, economics, as well as real estate.

“PNB looks forward to gaining from their contribution as we continue to be relentlessly focused on strengthening our resilience and delivering on our mandate to enhance the economic wealth of the Bumiputera community and all Malaysians,” she said.

In the statement, PNB also announced the retirement of Professor Tan Sri Datuk Seri Dr. Noor Azlan Ghazali from the Board of Directors of ASNB and PNB Research Institute Sdn Bhd.

With these new appointments, the composition of the Boards of Directors of PNB and ASNB, effective Jan 1 2019, will be as follows:-

Board of Directors of PNB:

1.    Tan Sri Dr Zeti Aziz (group chairman)

2.    Datuk Abdul Rahman Ahmad (president and group chief executive)

3.    Datuk Ahmad Badri Mohd Zahir

4.    Tan Sri Datuk Zainun Ali

5.    Datuk Dr Mohd Yaakub Johari

6.    Datuk Soedirman Aini

7.    Datuk Dr Nik Ramlah Nik Mahmood

8.    Datuk Johan Ariffin

Board of Directors of ASNB:

1.    Tan Sri Dr Zeti Aziz (group chairman of PNB)

2.    Datuk Abdul Rahman Ahmad (president and group chief executive of PNB)

3.    Mohammad Hussin (CEO and ED)

4.    Datuk Seri Dr Nik Norzrul Thani Nik Hassan Thani

5.    Datuk Dr Nik Ramlah Nik Mahmood