Pakatan Harapan 1st budget on Nov 2


The second meeting of the first term of the 14th Parliament, which is to begin today, will see the tabling of Budget 2019, the first national budget prepared by the Pakatan Harapan government after winning the May 9 general election and putting an end to Barisan Nasional’s (BN) 61-year rule of the country.

The tabling of the budget by Finance Minister Lim Guan Eng on Nov 2 is probably the much awaited event as the public is eager to see the “prudent budget” arrangement by the federal government as the country faces various challenges in terms of fiscal position.

Prior to this, Lim was reported to have admitted that the 2019 budget will be a difficult one for the federal government.

Even though Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has hinted that the national budget for 2019 will be smaller than the previous year’s due to the unfavourable economic conditions, many still have high hopes that
the new government will not jeopardise the economic wellbeing of the people.

In the 2018 budget, the BN government announced an allocation of RM280.25 billion for operating and development expenditures.

The second meeting of the 14th Parliament will also see the return of Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim to the Dewan Rakyat after he won the Port Dickson parliamentary by-election with a big majority of 23,560 votes yesterday.

The parliamentary seat was vacated by Datuk Danyal Balagopal Abdullah to make way for Anwar, who is also PKR and Pakatan Harapan de facto leader, to become the country’s eighth prime minister.

The composition of seats in the Dewan Rakyat will also see a slight change as BN is left will only 51 seats after three Umno MPs, namely Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (Jeli), Datuk Seri Anifah Aman (Kimanis) and Datuk Rozman Isli (Labuan), quit the party.

Mustapa and Anipah are now independent MPs, while Rozman decided to join​​​​​​​ Parti Warisan Sabah.

The number of seats for other parties remained unchanged with PKR having 50, followed by DAP (42), Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (13), Parti Amanah Negara (11), Gabungan Parti Sarawak (19), PAS (18) and Sabah local parties, namely UPKO, PBS, PBRS and Star, having one seat each.

The second meeting of the first term of the 14th Parliament, which will take place for 30 days, will also see the tabling of the Half Term Review of the 11th Malaysia Plan by Dr Mahathir on Oct 18. — Bernama