TM appoints 4 new board members


Telekom Malaysia Bhd (TM) has appointed four new directors following the resignation of David Benello as an independent non-ED.

The new board members are Datuk Asri Hamidin @ Hamidon, Datuk Mohd Naim Daruwish, Hisham Zainal Mokhtar and Saheran Suhendran.

Asri is appointed as a non-independent non-ED representing the special shareholder, Minister of Finance (Inc) on the board.

Mohd Naim has been made a non-independent non-ED representing the interests of the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) which is a major shareholder of the telco.

Asri is currently the deputy secretary general (investment) at the Ministry of Finance, while Mohd Naim is currently the deputy chief executive (operations) of EPF.

Hisham and Saheran were appointed as the independent non-EDs.

Hisham is currently a director in the group MD’s office at Malaysian Industrial Development Finance Bhd, while Saheran is currently a consultant at Messrs Chua Associates.

TM also announced the appointment of Farid Basir as its new chief human capital officer (CHCO) effective Oct 1, 2018, taking over the position previously covered by Suhaimi Sulong as the acting CHCO since early this year.

Prior to his appointment, Farid was the CHCO at Bank Rakyat for almost three years.

TM group chairman Tan Sri Dr Sulaiman Mahbob said the board and the senior management have, between them, vast experience and the expertise necessary in their respective fields — ranging from strategic management, economics, corporate finance and restructuring to law.